Alumni Directory and News Page

This page is for alumni and retired faculty to share information with the Department of Chemistry and other interested people.  Information can be provided to this page using this form or e-mailing the Department of Chemistry at cheminfo@villanova.edu.

1962
Name: William Hurley
e-mail: william.hurley@villanova.edu
notes: Current Position: Business Fellow Department of Management and Operations Villanova University

1963
Name: John Kelly
e-mail: jhpkelly901@live.com
notes: recently celebrated 50+ years working for the same company, now called The Valspar Corporation. Started there as a temp while at Villanova. Named to the Metal Roofing Hall of Fame in recogniton of years of service in the industry.

Name: Jim OBrien
e-mail: JimOBrien@missouristate.edu
notes: Retired Chemistry Professor Missouri State.
Wrote a book, “The Scientific Sherlock Holmes" (Oxford University Press) which won an Edgar Award in 2013.

Name: Chris Uzelmeier
e-mail: uzel106@consolidated.net
notes:

1967
Name: Michael Burke
e-mail: mburke5853@yahoo.com
notes: Pharmaceutical Regulatory & GMP Consultant.

Name: Michael Swerdloff, Ph.D.
e-mail: tennisball2000@hotmail.com
notes: Retired last year after working for nearly 20 years in the Staffing Department of Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation in East Hanover, NJ. Plan to relocate to Southeastern Florida sometime later this year.

1970
Name: Patrick Hagan
e-mail: phagan@ddhs.com
notes: 37 years as a chemical patent attorney and counting. My B.S. degree in Chemistry from
Villanova has served me very well.

1973
Name: Eugene McGonigle
e-mail: emcg2@yahoo.com
notes: Graduated MS. Villanova Dec 1970 (R.L. Grob, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Villanova Dec 1973 (R.L. Grob, Ph.D.)
Phi Kappa Phi Villanova 1983
1965-76 Merck Sharp & Dohme Res. Labs Sr. Res Chem
1976-1987 Johnson & Johnson/Ortho Pharm; Dir Anal Chem
1987-1998 Schering Plough Res Inst; VP Phys/Anal Chem R & D
Retired June 1998
Marquis Who's Who Sci & Eng First Ed 1992/1993
Consult: Pharm Anal & Management 1998-2003
Member USP Expert Committee: 2005-2015

1975
Name: Robert (Bob) Bell
e-mail: bellb@mlhs.org
notes: Project Manager Information Technology Clinical Solutions

Name: William Van Saun
e-mail: wavansaun@comcast.net
notes: Retired Director of Discovery Research, FMC Corp. APG, 2002

1976
Name: Matthew J OBrien
e-mail: mobrien12@aol.com
notes: Retired
Working with the USCG as an Auxiliarist in their Safety and Aids to Navigation areas.

1979
Name: John Teahan
e-mail: jpteahan@outlook.com
notes:

1984
Name: Fred Scoopo
e-mail: Fscoop@optonline.net
notes: I practice Pulmonary and Critical Care medicine at Atlantic Health System in NJ. Married to Mariellen Houghton Scoopo (chem 84). Have 2 children, my son Ryan will attend Villanova in the fall

1985
Name: Joe Donahue
e-mail: donahuetj@gmail.com, jdonahue@bioreference.com
notes: I left the Intellectual Property & Science division of Thomson Reuters at the end of 2014 to lead a new division of BioReference Laboratories (a leading diagnostic laboratory) focused on working with pharma, biotech and disease foundations to leverage our genomics / big data expertise to accelerate new drug innovation

1989
Name: Michael Byrnes
e-mail: mbyrnesy@aol.com
notes:

1991
Name: Paul Mullen
e-mail: pmullen@its.jnj.com
notes: Employed: Janssen Pharmaceuticals
1125 Trenton-Harbourton Road
Titusville, NJ 08560

1994
Name: Peter Iovine
e-mail: piovine@sandiego.edu
notes: Looking forward to the next alumni symposium.

1996
Name: Jill Dreibelbis
e-mail: dreibjk@hotmail.com
notes:

2000
Name: John (Patrick) Dougherty
e-mail: jpd215@hotmail.com
notes:

2001
Name: Pooja Aggarwal Bebbington
e-mail: pooj.aggarwal@gmail.com
notes:

Name: Chris Kavanagh
e-mail: ckavanagh59@gmail.com
notes: 21 Reading ave Yardley PA

Name: Helen McGuire
e-mail: helen.mcguire@astrazeneca.com
notes: I left the lab, now a Transaction Manager in US Business Development Operations

Name: Joseph Padalino
e-mail: Jlpadalino@gmail.com
notes: Urologist in Tulsa, ok

Name: Melissa Steinbeiser
e-mail: melissa_steinbeiser@hotmail.com
notes:

2003
Name: Maurice Marsini
e-mail: mmarsini@gmail.com
notes: Since finishing my postdoc at Princeton University in 2011, I began work as a Senior Scientist in Process Research at Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc. My wife Marisa and I are the proud parents of Orin (2.5 y) and Celeste (4 mo).

Name: Katie Picone
e-mail: kathryn.picone@gmail.com
notes:

2006
Name: Jill Betters
e-mail: jillmbetters@gmail.com
notes:

Name: Chris Gallo
e-mail: christopher.t.gallo@gmail.com
notes: Environmental Scientist at US Environmental Protection Agency's Environmental Response Team based out of Edison, NJ.

Name: Kendell Mahanna
e-mail: kmahanna@gmail.com
notes:

2007
Name: Michael Mirzabeigi
e-mail: michael.mirzabeigi@gmail.com
notes:

2008
Name: Joseph Hawkins
e-mail: joseph.t.hawkins@gmail.com
notes: Chemistry teacher at West Chester-Henderson High School

Name: Paul Karagiannis
e-mail: pkarag01@gmail.com
notes: Finishing up my residency at Cooper University Hospital in Emergency Medicine in Camden, NJ and will be medical staff at Cooper University starting July 1st.

2011
Name: Michael Turo
e-mail: michael.turo@vanderbilt.edu
notes: Graduate Student at Vanderbilt University, currently working at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab as a recipient of a DOE-SCGSR award.

2012
Name: Nathan Connolly
e-mail: n8connolly@gmail.com
notes:

2014
Name: Elizabeth Burzynski
e-mail: eab54@cornell.edu
notes:

Name: Benjamin Kramer
e-mail: bptkramer@gmail.com
notes: For any students interested in pursuing a career in medicine I am a medical student at NYiT-COM in NY and would be happy to provide insight, guidance, and information regarding the process.

none
Name: John Gallagher
e-mail: jacksgal12@yahoo.com
notes: Retired from E I DuPont.

Name: Kelley Nelson Muise
e-mail: kelley.n.muise@gmail.com
notes:

 

Villanova Chemistry at a Glance:

Degrees Offered: B.S., M.S.
Full Time Faculty: 25
Undergraduate Majors: 150
Graduate Students: 25
Equipment: an array of modern instrumentation for conducting research and instructional facilities
Building: Mendel Science Center houses research and instructional facilities for 6 scientific departments, including 17 chemistry research labs

Directions to Mendel Science Center