Dissertations in Progress

Emre Cetin Gurer

Areas of interest include: Social and Political Philosophy, Critical Theory, Aesthetics, Ethics, Political Temporality, Public Space, Architecture and Politics, Radical Democracy, Political Violence, Social Movements, Philosophy of the City
Dissertation title: "Prefigurative Heterotopias: Space-Time of Contemporary Square Movements"
emre.gurer@villanova.edu

Katherine Kurtz

Areas of interest include: Aesthetics, Philosophy of Art (especially literature, film, and performance), Feminist Theory, and Queer Theory
Dissertation title: "Deviant Bodies: Toward an Aesthetics of Monstrosity"
katherine.kurtz@villanova.edu

Luis Salazar

Areas of interest include: Ancient Greek Philosophy (esp. Aristotle), Philosophy of Emotion, Early Modern Philosophy, Latin American Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Social/Political Philosophy
Dissertation title: "A Physics of Affection: Aristotle’s Natural Science of the Páthē"
luis.salazar@villanova.edu

Amanda Holmes

Areas of interest include: Psychoanalysis and Phenomenology  (Kant, Heidegger, Freud, Lacan)
Dissertation title: "The Structure of Anxiety and the Status of the Object:
Kant, Heidegger, Lacan"
aholmes@villanova.edu

Katherine Filbert

Areas of interest include: 19th and 20th Century European Philosophy (esp. Nietzsche, Deleuze, and Foucault); Early Chinese Philosophy and Comparative Philosophy; Theories of Thought and Perspectivisms
Dissertation title: "Harming Stupidity: Perspectivism as an Ethics of Thought"
katherine.filbert@villanova.edu

Daniel Wood

Areas of interest include: Social & Political Philosophy, History of Philosophy, History & Political Theory of Decolonization
Dissertation title: "Epistemic Decolonization:
A Critical Epistemography of the Anticolonial Politics of Knowledge"
dwood6@villanova.edu

Michelle Falcetano

Areas of interest include: Christian Philosophy, Philosophy of Literature, Mythopoiesis, and Epistemology
Dissertation title: "Confession as Narrative Contemplation:
Imagination and Intellection in Saint Augustine’s Epistemology"
michelle.falcetano@villanova.edu

Chris Drain

Areas of interest include: Mind, Cognition, & Technology; Philosophical Anthropology; Social Ontology; Semiotics; The 'Vygotsky School' & Cultural-Historical Activity Theory
Dissertation title: "Agency and Signification as Situated Engagement: A Neo-Vygotskian Encounter with Cognitive Anthropology and '4E' Cognigtive Science"
christopher.drain@villanova.edu

Amrit Heer

Areas of interest include: Hegel, Kant & German Idealism, Metaphysics and Ontology, Philosophical Logic & Methodology, Universals, Truth
Dissertation title: "The Role of Disjunction and Singularity in Hegel's Logic of Conceptuality"
amrit.heer@villanova.edu

John Karas

Areas of interest include: Logic and Metaphysics
Dissertation title: "Hegel's Logic and the Concept of Teleology"
john.karas@villanova.edu

Richard Strong

Areas of interest include: Social Ontology, Critical Theory, Cognitive Science, History of Philosophy
Dissertation title: "Habitus Beyond Bourdieu: Sociality, Embodiment, and Critique"
richard.strong@villanova.edu

 

Philosophy Doctoral Program

philosophy

Villanova University, SAC 108
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova, PA 19085
Phone: 610.519.8997
Fax: 610.519.4639

Director:  Yannik Thiem
Coordinator:  Terry DiMartino