Faculty Fulbright Opportunities

What is the Fulbright program?

Established in August 1946 through legislation proposed to Congress by Sen. J. William Fulbright, the Fulbright Program is the flagship international exchange program sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Education and Cultural Affairs.  Since its inception, more than 325,000 participants – Americans and foreign citizens – have been awarded Fulbright grants in an effort to increase “mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries” through academic and cultural exchange. Currently, there are approximately 155 countries worldwide where Fulbright operates through partnerships between the U.S. and foreign governments.

While the Fulbright U.S. Student Program is administered by the Institute of International Education, the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES) manages the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

For more information or assistance, please contact Dr. Michael T. Westrate at michael.westrate@villanova.edu or 610-519-5928.


Fulbright Scholar Opportunities:

(Check website for deadlines, as they vary depending on the program)

For U.S. Scholars and Administrators

For non-U.S. Scholars

For U.S. Institutions


Recent Fulbright Recipients


Professor Garrett Clayton, PhD

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

2018 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Grant Recipient

Dr. Garrett Clayton received a Fulbright Scholar Grant to teach and conduct research on his project titled: "Robotics and Mechatronics in Cambodia: Teaching, Research, and Community Engagement" at the Institute of Technology of Cambodia in Phnom Penh.

He has visited Cambodia five times and built a strong relationship with the Golden West Humanitarian Foundation, completed senior design projects, a master’s thesis, and two ongoing doctoral projects on mechatronics and robotics for humanitarian mine action. Dr. Clayton’s four-month stay in the country will begin in April 2018. Read more here.


Professor Moeness Amin, PhD

Director of the Center for Advanced Communications and professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

2017 Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Advanced (Defense) Science and Technology

Fulbright Distinguished Chair Awards are among the most prestigious appointments in the Fulbright Scholar Program. These awards comprise approximately 40 distinguished lecturing, research, and lecturing/research awards that range from three to 12 month tenures.

Dr. Amin’s Fulbright Distinguished Chair appointment is to the Defense Science and Technology Group (DSTG), Australia. Dr. Amin will spend five months in Adelaide, Australia (Spring 2018). As Chair, he will work in a priority area for the DSTG, and engage with faculty and students through guest lectures and seminars. Dr. Amin will also explore long-term collaborations and institutional linkages.


Tuan Samahon, JD

Professor of Law

2017 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Grant Recipient

Served as a Fulbright scholar with the law faculty at the University of Zagreb in Croatia. While in Croatia, Samahon taught a seminar in spring 2017 on comparative approaches to public administrative law, with an emphasis on transparency.


Irene Kan, PhD

Associate Professor, Psychology

2016-17 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Grant Recipient

Selected for a Fulbright Scholar Award at the University of Toronto, Ontario (Fall 2016) and a Fulbright Visiting Research Chair award at the University of Lethbridge, Alberta (Spring 2017).  




Adriano Duque, PhD

Associate Professor, Romance Languages and Literatures

2016-17 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Grant Recipient

Awarded a research grant to study Muslim-Christian relations in Morocco. He will conduct research for his project titled: “Celebrating John the Baptist: Shared Saint Veneration Among Muslims and Christians in Morocco.”



Paul Steege, PhD

Associate Professor, History

2015-16 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Research Grant Recepient

Hosted by the Center for Contemporary History Research in Potsdam.  


Susan Mackey-Kallis, PhD

Associate Professor, Communication

2015-16 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Lecture Grant Recepient

Lectured and taught three courses at two Japanese universities.  


Kim Cahill

Director of the Center for Global Leadership, VSB

2015-16 Fulbright U.S. Scholar Seminar Grant Recipient   

Participant in the 2015 Fulbright Seminar for U.S. Administrators in International Education in Germany, October 2015.


John A. Pierce II, Ph.D

Professor, Management & Operations
VSB Endowed Chair in Strategic Management & Entrepreneurship

2014-18 Fulbright Senior Specialist


Diane Penneys Edelman, JD

Director of International Programs & Professor of Law

2009-10 Fulbright Specialist, European Humanities University, Vilnius, Lithuania


Steven L. Chanenson, JD

Professor of Law

2008-09 Fulbright Distinguished Lecturer in Law at Xiamen University in China


Silvia Nagy-Zekmi, Ph.D.

Professor, Dept of Hispanic and Cultural Studies
Director, Graduate Program in Hispanic Studies & Cultural Studies Program

2008 Faculty Summer Research Grant  


Michelle Pistone, JD

Director of the Clinic for Asylum, Refugee and Emigrant Services (CARES) & Professor of Law

2006 Fulbright Scholar at the University of Malta


Mark Alexander, JD

Arthur J. Kania Dean and Professor of Law

2006 Fulbright Scholar in Spain


Marc Gallicchio, Ph.D.

Professor of History

2004-05 J. William Fulbright Lecturer at the University of the Ryukyus in Okinawa, Japan


Michael Pagano, Ph.D.

Professor, Finance and The Robert J. and Mary Ellen Darretta Endowed Chair in Finance

2002-03 U.S. Fulbright Scholarship in Costa Rica


Kishor Thanawala, Ph.D.

Professor, Economics

1993-95 Committee of the Institute of International Education for selection of potential Fulbright candidates


Charles R. Taylor, Ph.D.

John A. Murphy Professor of Marketing, Marketing & Business Law

Fulbright Senior Specialist