

Villanova University Faculty Congress Academic Year 2018-2019

FACULTY CONGRESS MEETING January 30, 2019

Present: Aronté Bennett, Joseph Betz, Sherry Burrell, Sohail Chaudry, Alice Dailey, Scott Dressler, Travis Foster, Stacy Havlik, Marylu Hill, Tim Horner, Jacky Huang, Jeremy Kees, Stephanie Katz, Christopher Kilby, Rory Kramer, Eric Lomazoff, Calvin Li, Margaret (Peggy) Lyons, Joseph Micucci, Michele Pistone, James Peyton-Jones, Javad Salvatore Poeta, Michael Posner Siah, John Paul Spiro, Paul Steege, Ani Ural, Tom Way, Mark Wilson, Tina Yang

Absent: Tina Augustiady (NIA), Sarah Vaughan Brakman (NIA), Angela DiBenedetto (NIA), Melissa Hodges (NIA) Erasmus Kersting (NIA), Stephen Napier (NIA), Elizabeth Petit de Mangé (NIA), Jennifer Ross (NIA), Andrew Scott (NIA), Edward Wahesh (NIA)

The meeting commenced at 11:30 a.m. in Mendel 103.

Housekeeping

- 1. Minutes from December 4, 2018 were reviewed. Minutes were approved unanimously.
- 2. Faculty Congress chair Tom Way announced that the Faculty Congress Executive Committee had an upcoming dinner with Fr. Peter Mon. Feb. 25 at 6:30 and invited members to share any concerns or questions that they would like brought up during that meeting.
- 3. Tom announced that Q Chung has agreed to take over as chair of the Elections and Credentials Committee.
- 4. The Middle States Steering Committee has asked FC to appoint two representatives to Middle States, one from Nursing and one from Engineering.
- 5. The Committee on Mission and Social Justice asked Faculty Congress to appoint one representative to the Committee. Jean Lutes agreed to serve as a faculty representative.

Standing Committee Reports

1. James Peyton Jones reported that the **Research Policy Committee** met in late 2018 with Amanda Grannas and Moira McAndrews to discuss revisions RPC had made to the committee's Mission / Protocol document as a result of their feedback. He noted that the committee will remain primarily a faculty led and constituted body, but that members of the administration will be invited to meetings when their presence would be productive.

Alice Dailey, Andrew Scott, Angela DiBenedetto, Ani Ural, Aronte Bennett, Calvin Li, Christopher Kilby, Edward Wahesh, Elizabeth Petit de Mange, Erasmus Kersting, Eric Lomazoff, J.P. Spiro, Jacky Huang, James Peyton Jones (Vice Chair), Javad Siah, Jennifer Ross, Jeremy Kees, Joe Betz, Joe Micucci, Mark Wilson, Marylu Hill, Melissa Hodges, Michael Posner, Michele Pistone, Paul Steege, Peggy Lyons, Rory Kramer, Sal Poeta, Samantha Chapman, Sarah Vaughan Brakman, Scott Dressler, Sherry Burrell, Sohail Chaudhry, Stacey Havlik, Stephanie Katz, Stephen Napier, Tim Horner, Tina Agustiady, Tina Yang, Tom Way (Chair), Travis Foster

2. Alice Dailey reported that **Faculty Rights & Responsibilities Committee** submitted a counterproposal regarding faculty retirement to the provost's office. The committee is also engaged in ongoing conversations about Study Abroad faculty compensation.

Committees with Faculty Representation (time set aside for questions about reports received)

1. Christopher Kilby reported that the **Academic Policy Committee** was asked if faculty would prefer switch to a CATS summary that does not group students' qualitative and quantitative feedback. The advantage is that reporting of CATS data would be sent to faculty a week or two earlier than it has been. Christopher also reported that the Student Courseload Subcommittee has been looking at the number of double and triple majors and, specifically, plans to examine the number of students who sign up for a double and triple major and then do not complete the required coursework.

Old Business

1. Tom reported that Faculty Congress has appointed three members to the **Ombudsperson Hiring Committee** (Tom Way, Kelly Welch, Angela DiBenedetto). The team will decide on a semi-final round of applicant at their application review meeting 2/01/19 at 3:00.

New Business

- 1. Faculty Congress chair, Tom Way, reported on highlights from the recent **University Council meeting**. Discussion ensued about one of the highlights, which pertained to the increasing number of applications for undergraduate admission to the University. Some Faculty Congress members wondered why the increasing number of applicants does not seem to be translating into increasing **undergraduate diversity in terms of race and socioeconomic background**. The Faculty Congress Executive Committee plans to follow up on these questions, likely asking for an appropriate member of the administration to present on the University's diversity and inclusion efforts as they pertain to the recruiting, admitting, and retaining of undergraduate students.
- The Faculty Congress discussed the recent Climate Change Town Hall, which aimed to 2. increase discussion of the issue as well as the priority and visibility of climate change and sustainability in the University Strategic Plan. Vice Chair James Peyton Jones reported that the event was well attended and almost 600 community members signed a petition calling for various strategies to enhance the University's response to these issues. The petition was accompanied by a longer, more detailed letter addressed to Fr. Peter and Provost Maggitti and signed by the Faculty Congress Executive Committee, the Student Government Association, and the organizers of the Town Hall. While recognizing existing initiatives, the letter respectfully requested that Climate Change and Sustainability be given increased urgency, priority, and resources in the Strategic Plan, commensurate with their likely impact on the future of the University and on the future lives of students. A vote was held regarding whether Faculty Congress supports the principles set forth in the letter dated January 27, 2019 and signed by the Faculty Congress Executive Committee regarding sustainability and climate change. The vote passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Travis Foster, Faculty Congress Secretary

Alice Dailey, Andrew Scott, Angela DiBenedetto, Ani Ural, Aronte Bennett, Calvin Li, Christopher Kilby, Edward Wahesh, Elizabeth Petit de Mange, Erasmus Kersting, Eric Lomazoff, J.P. Spiro, Jacky Huang, James Peyton Jones (Vice Chair), Javad Siah, Jennifer Ross, Jeremy Kees, Joe Betz, Joe Micucci, Mark Wilson, Marylu Hill, Melissa Hodges, Michael Posner, Michele Pistone, Paul Steege, Peggy Lyons, Rory Kramer, Sal Poeta, Samantha Chapman, Sarah Vaughan Brakman, Scott Dressler, Sherry Burrell, Sohail Chaudhry, Stacey Havlik, Stephanie Katz, Stephen Napier, Tim Horner, Tina Agustiady, Tina Yang, Tom Way (Chair),Travis Foster