

VILLANOVA UNIVERSITY FACULTY CONGRESS

Academic Year 2019-2020

March 23, 2020 12:00 pm to 1:30 pm via Zoom

**Present:** Alice Dailey, Angela DiBenedetto, Aronté Bennett, Calvin Li, Christopher Kilby, Edward Wahesh, Erasmus Kersting, Eric Lomazoff, Helen Lafferty, Jacky Huang, James Peyton Jones, Javad Siah, Jennifer Altamuro, Joe Betz, Judy Strzepek, Mark Wilson, Melissa Hodges, Michele Pistone, Paul Steege, Peggy Lyons, Rory Kramer, , Scott Dressler, Sohail Chaudhry, Stacey Havlik, Stefanie Knauss, Stephanie Katz, Tim Horner, Tina Augustiady, Tom Way, Travis Foster

**Absent:** Andrew Scott (NIA), Ani Ural (NIA), Elizabeth Petit de Mange (NIA), Jennifer Ross (NIA), Jeremy Kees (NIA), John Paul Spiro (NIA), Marylu Hill (NIA), Michael Posner, Salvatore Poeta (NIA), Samantha Chapman (NIA), Sherry Burrell (NIA), Stephen Napier (NIA)

The meeting commenced at noon via Zoom.

## Housekeeping

- The minutes from February 3, 2020 were unanimously approved by those who had been in attendance.
- Faculty Congress Chair, Tom Way, announced an upcoming Faculty Congress Leadership Meeting with Provost & Vice Provost and invited faculty to share any concerns to pass along.

**Standing Committee Reports** (reports submitted in advance; please see appendix; this time set aside for elevated issues and/or questions)

- 1. Awards Committee (Sherry Burrell co-chair, Peggy Lyons co-chair, Andrew Scott). Peggy announced that reopening the mid-career service award was successful and shared the committee's recommendation for a 2020 awardee. Faculty Congress unanimously accepted the recommendation. She also shared that Andrew will take over as chair next year and announced changes to the nomination forms that will standardize submissions.
- 2. Adjunct Faculty Representatives (Judy Strzepek, Tina Agustiady). Tina announced that Judy will be stepping down as a representative to Faculty Congress.
- 3. Election and Credentials Committee (Q Chung incoming chair, Bob Styer outgoing chair). There was discussion about how the COVID-19 pandemic, along with its attendant changes in policies, underscores the importance of elected faculty governance. In order to facilitate a robust election process for the 20/21 academic year, nominations for Faculty Congress (and its related committees) were reopened through April 5. Faculty were encouraged to self-nominate and to nominate those they think would represent faculty's interests well. The Congress also nominated

the current chair and vice chair, Thomas Way and James Peyton Jones respectively, to continue in their roles for a second term.

- 4. Research Policy Committee (RPC; James Peyton Jones, chair). RPC continues to work on IRB.
- 5. Faculty Rights & Responsibilities Committee (FRRC; Alice Dailey, chair). Alice reported that FRRC will be discussing policies related to the Covid-19 closures, particularly around changes to the tenure clock.

## **Committees with Faculty Representation** (time set aside for questions about reports received)

1. Academic Policy Committee (Christopher Kilby, chair). Members discussed the Academic Policy Committee's recommendations that students be offered an opportunity to shift the semester's grades to S/U (since announced by the Provost's office), as well as policies related to promotion and the ownership of materials developed in the course of online teaching. Throughout this discussion, there was an underlying agreement that Faculty Congress should have, as a matter of course, a seat at the table during administrative decision-making meetings that affect academic policy and faculty rights and responsibilities as the response to COVID-19 is discussed.

The meeting adjourned at 1:33 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Travis Foster, Secretary